BJP names 3 LS, 11 Assembly candidates in Odisha


Bhubaneswar, April 1 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced candidates for three Lok Sabha and 11 Assembly constituencies in Odisha.

The party has fielded Abhimanyu Sethi, son of eight-time MP and former Union Minister Arjun Charan Sethi, from Bhadrak parliamentary constituency.

Arjun Charan Sethi, outgoing MP from Bhadrak, resigned from the Biju Janata Dal and joined the saffron party along with his son on Saturday.

The BJP has put up Biswesar Tudu to contest from Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha seat and Amiya Mallick from Jajpur.

For the Assembly seats, the BJP has fielded senior leader Bijoy Mohapatra from Mahakalpara in Kendrapara district.

Actress-turned-politician Aparajita Mohanty will contest from Bhubaneswar (North).

The party has given ticket to Sukant Nayak from Nilagiri and Jayanta Sarangi from Puri.

The BJP has declared 20 Lok Sabha candidates so far. It is yet to declare its candidate for Jagatsinghpur seat.

Of the 147 seats in the Assembly, the BJP has named candidates for 142 seats.

Odisha goes to the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

Related Posts