BJP MPS replace Congress leaders as heads of parliamentary panel

Parliament of India
Parliament of India

New Delhi,Sep14 : Two key parliamentary panels, the standing committees on finance and external affairs, which were headed by Congress MPs in previous 16th Lok Sabha will now be chaired by BJP MPs.

Former Congress President Rahul Gandhi has been appointed as committee member of the Parliamentary panel on on Defence.

BJP MPs Jayant Sinha and PP Choudhary will now head the panels on finance and external affairs respectively.

The Lok Sabha Secretariat updated the details for the newly constituted 17th Lok Sabha on Friday night.

BJP MP Jual Oram, who represents Sundargarh constituency, has been appointed as the chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee on Defence. Congress MPs including Rahul Gandhi, Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut and RJD lawmaker Prem Chand Gupta have also been appointed as committee members. Rahul Gandhi was earlier a member of the panel on external affairs.

Congress MP Anand Sharma has been appointed as the chairperson of the committee on Home Affairs while the leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, BJP MPs Dilip Ghosh, Jamyang Namgyal and Kirron Kher are also among the members of this committee.

Congress MP Tharoor, who retained his Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha seat in the last general elections, has now been made the head of the Standing Committee on Information Technology.

Related Posts