BJP lost Kairana, Noorpur due to Summer Vacations: UP Minister

Laxmi Narayan Chaudhary

New Delhi, June 1: Uttar Pradesh Minister for Dairy Farming, Culture and Minority Welfare Laxmi Narayan Chaudhary on Friday said the Bharatiya Janata Party witnessed defeat in Kairana Lok Sabha seat and Noorpur Assembly seat due to summer vacations.

A day after crucial by-elections results were announced, Chaudhary said our supporters and voters had gone with their children for summer holidays so we lost those two seats.

The saffron party faced the biggest shock from high-stake Kairana — a seat the BJP won in 2014 — where the opposition had fielded a common candidate.

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) candidate Tabassum Hasan, backed by the Congress, the SP and the BSP, defeated the BJP’s Mriganka Singh in Kairana by more than 55,000 votes.

While in Noorpur, Samajwadi Party leader Naeem-ul-Hasan attained victory with 94,866 votes, against 89,188 obtained by his nearest rival, Avni Singh of the BJP in the bypoll to the assembly constituency in Binore district.

In the recently held by-polls to 10 Assembly and 4 Lok Sabha constituencies ahead of high-stakes 2019 general elections, the BJP won just one Assembly seat and one Lok Sabha seat.


Related Posts