Biren Singh sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur



Imphal, March 15: BJP leader Biren Singh on Wednesday was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Manipur while NPP’s Y.Joykumar was sworn in as Deputy Chief Minister of Manipur on Wednesday at the Raj Bhawan.

Manipur deputy CM

The oath was taken after Governor Najma Haptullah invited the BJP-led coalition under Singh to form the next government in the state after claiming requisite support from regional parties and Independents.

Since March 11, the day of the results, both the Congress and the BJP have claimed support in order to form the next government.

Although the Congress emerged as the single largest party with 28 MLAs, the BJP, with 21 MLAs, claims to have the support of NPP (4), NPF (4), LJP (1), and three others.


Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts