Biplab Kumar Deb to be next Tripura CM, Deb barma Deputy CM

Biplab Deb

New Delhi, March 6: Biplab Kumar Deb has been appointed as the new chief minister of Tripura on Tuesday. 

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari announced, “Biplab Kumar Deb will be the new Chief Minister and Jishnu Debbarma the Deputy Chief Minister”.

The newly-elected MLAs of the BJP met here in the presence of central observers and elected Deb as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party.

Soon after the announcement, Deb accompanied by Gadkari met Governor Tathagata Roy at the Raj Bhavan and staked claim to form a BJP government.

“We will give good governance in Tripura,” the 48-year-old RSS-turned-BJP leader Deb told the media ahead of meeting the Governor.

The BJP and its ally, the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) attained victory in the February 18 polls, winning 43 of the 59 seats for which elections were held.

The BJP  sealed 35 seats in the 60-member Assembly and the IPFT, a tribal-based party, eight seats. The CPI-M got 16 seats.


Related Posts