Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind , BJP’s Nominee for Presidential candidate

NewDelhi, June 19: The Bhartiya Janta Party nominates Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind as its presidential candidate. 

In the ”BJP’s parliamentary board”, the panel left the decision on Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Amit Shah to nominate candidate for new President of the country. 

Today ruling BJP party called high level board  meeting  to discuss its nominee for upcoming  presidential election.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi chaired the party’s Parliamentary Board meeting where a list of probable names were discussed. Party chief Amit Shah and several union ministers were among those in attendance.

The three-member party committee,  which includes Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, M Venkaiah Naidu and Arun Jaitley briefed the board members about the consultations undertaken by them with allies and opposition parties.

The party has prepared four sets of nomination papers, leaving the space for the name of the candidate blank. Nomination form of the candidate is to be signed by at least 50 electors as proposers and 50 as seconders for each set.

Earlier Multiple sources have told  that former diplomat Gopalkrishna Gandhi could be the potential opposition candidate, with Left parties pushing for Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson for the country’s highest post.

On the other hand, several BJP leaders claimed that the party’s choice for the post of the President will be a political person with strong BJP affiliation. This stand could spoil chances of the likes of MS Swaminathan, as suggested by the Shiv Sena, and ‘Metro Man’ E Sreedharan.

Names of  Lok Sabha speaker Sumitra Mahajan and Uttar Pradesh governor Ram Naik were doing the rounds as possible candidate for the President’s post.

he BJP leaders last week said the NDA is “absolutely confident” of the win of its candidates in both the presidential and vice-presidential elections. If the ruling BJP-led NDA and the opposition fail to reach an agreement with regards to a common candidate, polling will be held for the election of the next President on July 17.

The filing of nomination papers to elect the 15th President of India had begun on June 14 and the process will end on June 28. Pranab Mukherjee’s term as President will end on July 24.

WeForNews Bureau

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top