Big setback for Sharad Yadav, Nitish kumar faction gets the ‘Arrow’ symbol

nitish kumar

Election Commission on Friday (17th November) settles JD(U) symbol row. A group led by Nitish Kumar recognised as Janata Dal (United). Consequently, the group is entitled to use reserved symbol ‘Arrow’ of the Party as a recognised state party in Bihar.

138 out of 195 National Council members, both two LS members, seven out of 10 RS members, all 71 MLAs & 30 MLCs have submitted affidavits in support of Nitish Kumar faction; majority with them, hence Nitish Kumar faction authorised for ‘arrow’ symbol told Election Commission.

Election Commission also said ‘overwhelming majority support’ in the legislature and national council of the party with him, not Sharad Yadav.

A dispute between the two major leaders of JDU occurred after Nitish Kumar decided to join hands with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by ending alliance with Lalu Prasad’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress, senior party leader Sharad Yadav accused him of indulging in anti-party activities by going against the decision of the national executive of the party which had resolved to oppose the BJP.

Yadav had maintained that the faction led by him was the real JD(U). His faction’s working president Chhotubhai Amarsang Vasava moved the poll panel staking claim over the party and its election symbol.

WeForNews Bureau

Related Posts