Bhupesh Baghel takes oath as Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh

Dec 17: Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel on Monday took oath as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh.

Baghel, who represents Patan Assembly constituency in Durg district, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Anandiben Patel in the presence of Congress President Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, among other leaders here.

Meanwhile, T. S. Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu sworn in as the ministers.

Baghel was made the state party chief in October 2014.

The Congress witnessed a landslide victory in the tribal-dominated by claiming 68 seats in the 90-member Assembly.

Baghel, who is considered as a powerful leader of the OBC community, served as a Minister in Digvijay Singh’s cabinet in undivided Madhya Pradesh and later became a Minister in Ajit Jogi’s government after Chhattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh.

Baghel stepped into politics as a students leader and was elected to the undivided Madhya Pradesh Assembly for the first time in 1993.


Related Posts