Australia retain the Ashes, beat England by 185 runs | WeForNews | Latest News, Blogs Australia retain the Ashes, beat England by 185 runs – WeForNews | Latest News, Blogs
Connect with us


Australia retain the Ashes, beat England by 185 runs



Australia Cricket Team

Manchester, Sep 8 (IANS) Australia saw off late resistance from Jack Leach and Craig Overton to beat England by 185 runs on Sunday to take a 2-1 lead in the series and retain the Ashes. Chasing a target of 383, England folded for 197 as Pat Cummins took four wickets to pierce through its top and middle order, and Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Starc wiped out the rest.

With only a draw or a series win for Australia possible and the visitors winning the previous Ashes, they retain the title regardless of what happens in the final Test at the Oval.

Cummins started the day by adding two more wickets to his tally in the first session. The first was that of Jason Roy who put up 66 runs for the third wicket with Joe Denly. The pair managed to fend off 145 balls before Cummins got Roy. He then got the wicket of England’s Headingley hero Ben Stokes while the latter was on 1 off 17 balls.

Opener Denly, who had scored a half century was finally dismissed by Lyon in the 40th over of the innings after and after Jonny Bairstow, it was down to Jos Buttler to resist the Australians with the tail.

Buttler and Overton saw England through to tea and the former did well to fend off for 111 balls. He left a delivery from Josh Hazlewood that swung in and took off his off stump and thus had to depart having made 34 runs.

However, Leach and Overton then combined to grind out the bowlers for most of the third session. The pair looked comfortable against Hazlewood, Starc, Cummins and Lyon and it took Marnus Labuschagne to make the difference. Labuschagne pitched on the rough on length outside off and it got big on Leach. He fended it off only for the ball to fall into the hands of short leg. Leach had faced 51 balls and his ninth wicket stand with Overton lasted 85 deliveries and much of the third session.

Overton was the last man to fall with Hazlewood getting an LBW decision in his favour. The batsman reviewed the decision and unsurprisingly the decision was upheld.

Brief scores: Australia 497/8d (Steve Smith 211, Marnus Labuschagne 67; Stuart Broad 3/97) & 186/6d (Steve Smith 82, Matthew Wade 34; Jofra Archer 3/45) vs England 301 (Rory Burns 81, Joe Root 71; Josh Hazlewood 4/57) & 197 (Joe Denly 53, Jos Buttler 34; Pat Cummins 4/43)


Warne banned from driving for 12 months

The former Australian spinner already had 15 penalty points to his license for five speeding offences from April 2016.



New Delhi, Sep 23 : Australia legend Shane Warne has been banned from driving for 12 months after picking up his sixth speeding offence in two years. Warne pleaded guilty at the Wimbledon Magistrates’ Court for driving at over 75 kmph in a zone where the speed limit was 65 kmph.

According to BBC News, the former Australian spinner already had 15 penalty points to his license for five speeding offences from April 2016.

The 50-year-old, who was not present at the hearing, is also required to pay 900 pounds as fine.

Warne, regarded as one of the best spinners in cricket history, scalped 708 wickets in 145 Tests between 1992 and 2007.

Continue Reading


Sprinter Dutee Chand wants to join politics

Earlier this year, Dutee openly announced that she was in a same-sex relationship.



Bhubaneswar, Sep 23 : Ace sprinter Dutee Chand has expressed her interest to enter the political fray after finishing her athletic career.

“I have always wanted to join politics since childhood. My family has also been involved in grassroots politics, with my mother being the SARPANCH of our village,” Dutee tweeted on Monday.

Dutee, however, said there is no plan to join politics as of now and she will wait till the completion of her career as an athlete.

“Now, I am focusing on my sprinting career. There is no plan to join politics now,” said India’s fastest woman.

Earlier this year, Dutee openly announced that she was in a same-sex relationship.

The 23-year-old athlete, who holds the national record in the women’s 100 metres event, is preparing for the World Championships scheduled to begin on September 27 in Doha.

Continue Reading


India vs South Africa 3rd T20I: Unchanged India bat first in Bengaluru




India vs south africa women

Bengaluru, Sep 22 India have elected to bat first at the M. Chinnaswamy stadium here on Sunday in the third and final T20I against South Africa.

India lead the three-match series 1-0 following their victory in Mohali on Wednesday while the first match in Dharamsala was washed out without a ball being bowled on September 15.

India skipper Virat Kohli said the hosts have gone in with an unchanged XI from the second T20I in Mohali. South Africa have made one change to their side with Beuran Hendricks replacing Anrich Nortje.

“Looks like a nice wicket. I know this is a ground where teams have chased well. But going into the T20 World Cup, we want to improve on a few things as a team. Batting first is an area we want to improve upon. Batting first is something we’re also looking to strengthen.

“Results are always a priority, but we need to get out of our comfort zone also. Come the World Cup, toss is not in your control, you should be able to perform whether batting or bowling first. Have a few plans in mind, will be looking to executing those,” Kohli said at the toss.

South Africa skipper Quinton de Kock said that the Proteas will be looking to make improvements upon their performance in the second T20I that ended in a seven-wicket loss for them.

“It will be a good wicket anyway, whether we batted or bowled. We will have to try and compete, be the best players we can be. Last match was up and down for the team. We will try to learn from our mistakes,” de Kock said.

Playing XI
South Africa: Quinton de Kock(c/wk), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Andile Phehlukwayo, Bjorn Fortuin, Kagiso Rabada, Beuran Hendricks, Tabraiz Shamsi

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

Continue Reading

Most Popular