Anshu Prakash Assault Case: Court grants bail to Kejriwal, Sisodia and other AAP MLAs

Anshu Prakash Kejriwal

New Delhi, Oct 25: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Deputy CM Manish Sisodia and other Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs who were named as accused in the Delhi Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash’s assault case were granted bail on Thursday by the Patiala House court.

Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Samar Vishal granted the bail after the accused appeared before him in pursuance of summons issued against them.

The Delhi Police in August charge-sheeted Kejriwal, Sisodia and 11 legislators –Amanatullah Khan, Prakash Jarwal, Nitin Tyagi, Rituraj Govind, Sanjeev Jha, Ajay Dutt, Rajesh Rishi, Rajesh Gupta, Madan Lal, Parveen Kumar and Dinesh Mohania — in the case.

Amanatullah Khan and Prakash Jarwal were granted bail by the Delhi High Court in March.

The accused have been charge-sheeted under various sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC) for voluntarily causing hurt and obstructing a public servant to deter him/her from doing duty, wrongful confinement and assault.

They have also been accused of insult with intent to provoke breach of peace, criminal intimidation, criminal conspiracy, punishment of abetment and unlawful assembly among others.

The AAP has called the case a “midnight conspiracy to defame the Delhi Chief Minister, Deputy Chief Minister and 11 MLAs in a false and laughable case”.

Prakash had alleged that he was beaten up by AAP MLAs in the presence of Kejriwal at the Chief Minister’s residence on the night of February 19 where he had been called for a meeting.


Related Posts