All four accused including Aseemanand acquitted in Samjhauta Blast Case

Samjhauta Express Blast-
Samjhauta Express Blast-

Panchkula, March 20: A Special NIA Court in Panchkula on Wednesday acquitted all the four accused- Aseemanand Lokesh Sharma, Kamal Chauhan and Rajinder Chaudhary in Samjhauta Blast Case.

The NIA court had framed charges against Hindu leader Swami Aseemanand and three others – Kamal Chauhan, Rajinder Chaudhary and Lokesh Sharma in January 2014.

On February 18, 2007, an explosion in the Samjhauta Express that connects India and Pakistan claimed lives of 68 people.

The incident took place at Diwani village near the industrial town of Panipat, 160 kilometres from here, in Haryana, when it was going towards Attari, the last station on the Indian side.

Aseemanand, who is a member of the right-wing Hindu group Abhinav Bharat, was alleged to be involved in the bombing.

Lokesh Sharma, Sunil Joshi, Sandeep Dange and Ramchandra Kalasangra were also named in the NIA charge sheet.


Related Posts