All BJP ministers quit in J-K, Ahead of Cabinet reshuffle

Mehbooba Mufti
CM Mehbooba Mufti, File Photo

Srinagar, April 18: Ahead of a major reshuffle of Mehbooba Mufti cabinet, all BJP ministers in the PDP-BJP government, barring Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh, have resigned.

This comes days after, two BJP leaders Lal Singh and Chander Prakash Ganga stepped down from their respective posts, in a backdrop of Kathua rape and murder case.

Speaking to Media on Wednesday, BJP Jammu and Kashmir Chief  Sat Sharma said ” All our(BJP) ministers have tendered their resignations to me. We will take decisions on names in the reshuffle after discussions with the Central leaders”.

“As far as our alliance with PDP is concerned, it is as strong as ever”, he added.

According to media reports, the latest resignations have nothing to do with the Kathua case and earlier party sources had also clarified that the decision does not mean that they are pulling out of the PDP-BJP government in the state.

The saffron party has six Cabinet-rank ministers and three ministers of state in the 22-member council of ministers headed by Mehbooba.


Related Posts