President confers the National Awards


The 63rd National Film Awards got a dash of glitz and glamour of Bollywood. President Pranab Mukherjee presented the awards, which got talent from all the regional cinematic worlds across India under one roof.amitabh-bachchan_111-wefornews

The ceremony was held at the Vigyaan Bhawan, Delhi saw the winners being presented and honoured with the esteemed and prestigious trophy. Among the actors who were honoured today include Amitabh Bachchan, who won Best Actor for ‘Piku’. ‘Tanu Weds Manu Returns’ actor Kangana Ranaut was given the Best Actress award, while the Best Special Effects and the Best Film awards went to the war film, ‘Baahubali’.

kangana 55-minWhile Amitabh, dressed up in a black suit, picked up the award for his act as a Bengali father in Piku, which also starred Deepika Padukone, Kangana looking radiant in off-shoulder gown got the honour for her superlative dual act in Tanu Weds Manu Returns. She has previously won National Awards twice for her roles in Fashion and Queen.

kangana 111-wefornews
In the Feature Film category, the award for the Best Feature Film was given to filmmaker S.S. Rajamouli’s southern magnum opus Baahubali: The Beginning, produced by Shobu Yarlagadda and Arka Mediaworks Pvt Ltd.

bahubali111-min -wefornewsSanjay Leela Bhansali received the Best Director award for period drama ‘Bajirao Mastani’, while Remo D’Souza received the Best Choreographer award for ‘Bajirao Mastani’. Best Production Design, Cinematography and Best Sound Designing awards went to ‘Bajirao Mastani’, while Salman Khan-starrer ‘Bajrangi Baijaan’ was bestowed upon by the Best Popular Film honour. The Best Hindi Film and the Best Lyrics Awards went to ‘Dum Laga Ke Haisha’, while the Special Jury award was given to ‘Margarita With A Straw’. ‘Talvar’ received best On-location Audiography award, while Monali Thakur won the Best Playback Singer for ‘Moh moh ke dhaage’ for ‘Dum Laga Ke Haisha’.
Here’s is the complete list of winners:

Best Film: Baahubali – The Beginning
Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for ‘Bajirao Mastani’
Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan for ‘Piku’
Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut for ‘Tanu Weds Manu Returns’
Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Best Supporting Actor: Samuthirakani for VisaaranaiBest Supporting Actress: Tanvi Azmi, Bajirao Mastani
Best Hindi Film: Dum Laga Ke Haisha
Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film Of A Director: Neeraj Ghaywan, Masaan
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Bajrangi Bhaijaan
Best Choreography: Remo D’Souza, Deewani Mastani song in Bajirao Mastani
Best Female Playback Singer: Monali Thakur, Moh Moh Ke Dhage – Dum Laga Ke Haisha
Best Cinematography: Sudeep Chaterjee, Bajirao Mastani
Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration: Nanak Shah Fakir
Best Screenplay Writer (Original): Juhi Chaturvedi (Piku) and Himanshu Sharma (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)
Best Film on Social Issue: Niranayakam
Best Music Direction: M Jayachandran for Song Kaathirunnu Kaathirunnu for the Ennu Ninte Moideen
Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Manoj Kumar for his outstanding contribution to Indian cinema

Read more:

Wefornews bureau

Related Posts