6 Congress MPs suspended for throwing papers in Lok Sabha


New Delhi, July 24, 2017: Demanding a discussion on the issue of Dalit atrocities and Muslims by the cow vigilantes, Congress members staged a sit-in near Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan’s podium throughout the Question Hour as she refused to permit discussion on the issue.

Mallikarjun Kharge spoke on the issue as the Zero Hour started.

Opposition members trooped near the Speaker’s podium as a discussion was not allowed and kept raising anti-government slogans and threw torn bits of paper irking the chair.

Following this ‘unbecoming conduct’, Mahajan suspended six Congress MPs for five consecutive sittings for undermining the Chair’s dignity.

Suspended MPs had stormed the Well, torn papers and thrown it towards the Chair.

The six MPs – Gaurav Gogoi, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Ranjit Ranjan, Sushmita Dev, M.K. Raghavan and K. Suresh — would have to remain out of the lower House for the whole of this week.

During Zero Hour, as the Congress MPs were protesting demanding a discussion on attacks on Dalits and Muslims by cow vigilantes, the six MPs tore up the papers and threw them in the air and towards the Speaker’s podium.

“This conduct is not right. It is highly unbecoming and against the rules of the House which seeks to undermine the dignity of the House,” Mahajan said.

She said the members were “wilfully obstructing” the House and had caused disorder. She announced their suspension under rule 374 A for “five consecutive sittings”.

Wefornews Bureau

Related Posts