Connect with us


24×7 MHA Control room monitoring landslides & floods in northeastern states



Imphal floods

Manipur, June 14: Incessant rains in northeastern parts at the hills and valley have flooded various parts of the states.

Ministry of Home affairs control rool is monitoring 24×7 severe landslides and floods in Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and other States for necessary help, said Kiren Rijiju.

Meanwhile, rescue operation is on to help the stranded people.

Wefornews Bureau


Karnataka: 6 dead, 5 injured in boiler blast at sugar factory in Bagalkot



Breaking news 2

Bengaluru: At least six people were killed and five critically injured after a blast took place in a boiler in Nirani sugars factory at Mudhol in Bagalkot district of Karnataka.


More details awaited

Continue Reading


Congress will do its work on farm loans waiver, BJP should perform its role : Gehlot



Ashok Gehlot

Jaipur, Dec 16 : Ashok Gehlot will take oath as Chief Minister of Rajasthan on Monday but BJP has started issuing statements on  farm loan waiver.Rajasthan CM designate Ashok Gehlot said that Congress will do its work of waiving farm loans and BJP should rather perform their role as an opposition.

 “Congress will do its work. They should do theirs, if they don’t public will question them. The responsibility they have today is what we had in the last election & we worked. Now it’s their duty to work,” Rajasthan CM designate Ashok Gehlot said on BJP’s demand for farm loan waiver.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi, along with several senior party leaders, will be present on December 17 at the oath-taking ceremony of Rajasthan Chief Minister-designate Ashok Gehlot .

The programme, in which Sachin Pilot will also take oath as the state’s Deputy Chief Minister, would be held at 10 a.m at Albert Hall here.

Former Prime Minister and Congress veteran Manmohan Singh would also be present.

The other leaders expected at the ceremony include former Prime Minister H.D. Devegowda, former Union Minister Sharad Yadav, Congress leader Mallikarjun Khadge, former J&K Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, former Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav, DMK working President M.K. Stalin, party leader Kanimozhi, JMM leader Hemant Soren and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha chief Babulal Marandi.

While Gehlot will take the oath as Chief Minister for the third time, Pilot will take the oath for the first time as Deputy Chief Minister.



Continue Reading


Voting underway for Haryana municipal polls




Chandigarh, Dec 16:Voting was underway on Sunday for five municipal corporations and committees in Haryana. Only a few voters were seen at polling stations due to the cold weather as elections to the five municipal corporations and committees of Hisar, Rohtak, Yamunanagar, Panipat and Karnal were being held.

Voting started at 7.30 a.m. and will continue till 4.30 p.m., election officials said.


The election to the posts of mayors will be held directly for the first time.

A total of 14,01,454 voters are eligible exercise their franchise in 136 wards of the municipal corporations and committees.

The State Election Commission (SEC) said that there are 744,468 are male voters and 656,986 are female voters.

The Haryana Police has made elaborate security arrangements to ensure smooth conduct of the elections.

Over 7,000 police personnel, including women police officials, are on duty.

Officials said that for the first time in the electoral history of municipal elections in the country, none of the above (NOTA) has been introduced as an option in the electronic voting machines (EVMs).

There are 1,292 polling stations for the elections. Out of these, 304 are sensitive and 166 are hyper-sensitive. The highest number of polling stations (303) has been set up in Yamunanagar district.

Director General of Police (DGP) B.S. Sandhu said on Saturday that the entire police administration is fully geared up to conduct free, fair and peaceful elections.

While the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and opposition Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) are contesting the elections on their respective party symbols, the Congress has chosen not to use the party symbol for candidates backed by the party.

The elections are being considered important before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections and Assembly polls likely to be held in October 2019.

The BJP has been in power in Haryana since October 2014.(IANS)

Continue Reading

Most Popular