2019 General Elections: BJP to contest 20 seats in Bihar

Representative Image

Patna, Aug 30: Seat-sharing formula for the high-level 2019 general elections has been finalised by the NDA constituents in Bihar, out of 40 Lok Sabha seats the BJP will contest on 20 and the rest goes to its allies including the JD-U, LJP, and the RLSP.

However, an official announcement in this regard is yet to be made, a senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader told IANS: “BJP would contest 20 seats, JD-U 12, LJP five, RLSP two and a splinter group of RLSP one seat.”

In the last Lok Sabha elections, the BJP fought on 30 seats in Bihar and won 22, while its allies Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) clinched six seats and the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) bagged three.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar led- Janata Dal-United (JD-U) had contested on its own but failed to perform well, as it had won only two seats.

Following pressure from the BJP allies, the seat was finalised as they had been seeking a clear picture about which party will contest how many seats in the high stakes elections.


Related Posts