2019 Elections: JDU, BJP To Contest 17 Seats Each, LJP Gets 6 in Bihar

New Delhi, Dec 23 : The NDA has finalised the  seat-sharing formula in Bihar for 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Bharatiya Janata Party chief Amit Shah on Sunday announced that the BJP and Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) will contest polls from 17 seats each, the Ram Vilas Paswan-led Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will contest six seats.

The announcement — made by Party chief Amit Shah — came days after the exit of ally Upendra Kushwaha and ironing out the differences with other key ally in Bihar, Ram Vilas Paswan.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the JD-U also agreed to give a Rajya Sabha seat to LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan.

“The BJP and the JD-U will contest 17 seats each while the LJP will contest six seats in Bihar in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections,” Shah said after an hour-long meeting with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Paswan.

Shah said they have agreed to contest under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He expressed confidence that the National Democratic Alliance would win more seats in Bihar in 2019 than it did in 2014.

Of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in the state, the BJP had won 22 out of 30 it contested while the LJP won six out of seven it contested.

Last week, Paswan’s son Chirag Paswan had warned the BJP of “consequences” if the seat sharing was not finalised, triggering speculation about the LJP too being on its way out of the alliance.

Upendra Kushwaha-led Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP), had won all three seats it contested as part of the NDA alliance then, has now joined the United Progressive Alliance.

Nitish Kumar told reporters said, “We are committed to development in Bihar. We are of the opinion that the Ram Mandir matter should be solved through a court decision.” Notably, as per reports, Kumar had demanded an equal share of seats as that of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Related Posts