2017 In Retrospect: Round up of high stakes-elections in India

The year 2017 witnessed major political developments since from the beginning with Uttar Pradesh Assembly election held in February to Gujarat in December.

It has been an eventful year for the top post contests. As the polls witnessed series of events such as horse-trading of political leaders, Patidar quota leader Hardik Patel accused the BJP of spying on him through CCTV, spark over delay in announcement for Gujarat poll schdule, electronic voting machines (EVMs) controversy and much more.

New faces that emerged and gained fame during this elections campaign are: Hardik Patel, Alpesh Thakore and Jignesh Mevani.

As the year draws to an end, lets have a round up of political battles that India saw in 2017:

Uttar Pradesh

The BJP clinched the Assembly Election in Uttar Pradesh with 312 of 403 seats in their account. The incumbent Samajwadi Party combine polled 54 seats, and the Bahujan Samaj Party got 19 seats.

Priest-turned politician Yogi Adityanath was chosen as the Chief Minister surprisingly, who surpassed Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma to seal the top position.


The Congress attained a big victory by winning 77 out of 117 seats Punjab Assembly elections. Capt. Amarinder Singh was elected as the Chief Minister,

Singh won the Patiala seat with highest margin of 52,407 votes by defeating his close rival Balbir Singh of the AAP.


While in Uttrakhand assembly polls, the BJP won the battle with having 312 of 403 seats in their favor. Trivendra Singh Rawat was appointed as the Chief Minister.

Elected from the Doiwala constituency, Rawat is an erstwhile RSS pracharak who made his political debut after working with BJP president Amit Shah in Uttar Pradesh in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.


Despite clinching 17 of 40 seats in Goa, the Congress failed to form the government in the coastal state. The BJP, which has won only 13 seats managed to reign with the help of alliance.


In Manipur, the Congress got the majority but the BJP claimed the triumph with 21 out of 60 seats in favour by forming an alliance with other political parties. Footballer turned Politician Biren Singh was chosen as the Chief Minister.

Presidential Election

With 702,044 votes, NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind was elected as President of India. This presidential poll saw the highest-ever voter turnout of over 99 percent as out of 771 MPs who had the right to vote, 756 cast their votes.

Vice Presidential Election

O M. Venkaiah Naidu named as vice president of India with 516 votes in his account.

Congress President Election

Lone Candidate Rahul Gandhi had been unopposed elected as the Congress President by succeeding his mother Sonia Gandhi. With 89 nomination proposals, 47-year-old Gandhi scion secured party’s top post.

Sonia Gandhi headed the Congress party for 19 consecutive years. Now she will contest the 2019 Lok Sabha polls from her constituency ‘Rae Bareli’.

Himachal Pradesh

Bagging 44 of 68 seats, the BJP won the polls. However, its chief ministerial nominee was defeated in the polls in the Sujanpur constituency.

The BJP has named Jairam Thakur as the Chief Minister for Himachal Pradesh.


For the sixth time in a row, the BJP retained power in Gujarat, but this time just edging past the half-way mark as the Congress improved its tally compared to five years ago.

The incumbent party won 99 seats, and the Congress secured 77 seats. While more than 5.5 lakh voters in Gujarat opted for the NOTA option.

Vijay Rupani and Nitin Patel renamed as Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister of Gujarat.


Related Posts