Malegaon blast accused to contest 2019 Lok Sabha Election

Retired Major Ramesh Upadhyay
File Photo

New Delhi, Sep 5: The 2008 Malegaon blast accused retired Major Ramesh Upadhyay to contest the high-level 2019 Lok Sabha Election.

He will fight from Jadavpur constituency in West Bengal on Hindu Mahasabha ticket.

This comes a day after, the Bombay High Court declined to stay a lower court order for framing of charges in a case against Lt. Col. Srikant P. Purohit and 13 other accused in connection with the explosion.

Upadhyay was granted bail by the Bombay High Court last year in September.

While Purohit who was also granted bail in 2017 after spending nine years in custody, is currently posted at the Military Station in Colaba, south Mumbai.

The 14 accused (including Purohit) are: a former Major Ramesh Upadhyay, Sadhvi Pragnya Singh Thakur, a self-proclaimed seer, Sudhakar Dwivedi alias Dayanand Pandey, Rakesh Dhawde, Sameer Kulkarni, Sudhakar Chaturvedi, Pravin Takalki, Shivnarayan Kalsangra, Shyam Sahu, Ajay Rahirkar, and Jagdish Mhatre, besides two absconders, Sandeep Dange and Ramchandra Kalsangra.

Seven people were killed and more than 100 were injured in a bomb blast on September 29, 2008 at Muslim-majority locality of Malegaon town in Nashik.


Related Posts