2 G Scam Verdict: All Accused including A Raja, Kanimozhi acquitted

2 G Spectrum

New Delhi, Dec 21: A special CBI court on Thursday acquitted all the accused in the 2G spectrum scam case, including former telecom minister A Raja and DMK MP Kanimozhi. 

CBI Judge O.P. Saini pronounced the verdict in in both the cases filed by the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and Enforcement Directorate (ED), saying the prosecution has failed to prove guilt beyond reasonable doubt.

“Many facts recorded in the chargesheet are factually incorrect, like the Finance Secretary strongly recommending revision of entry fee, deletion of clause of draft Letter of Intent (LoI) by Raja, recommendation of TRAI for entry fees…

“I have absolutely no hesitation in holding that prosecution has miserably failed to prove any charge against any of the accused, made in its all well choreographed chargesheet. All the accused are acquitted,” news agency IANS quoted, the Judge said.

Speaking to Media, outside the court, Kanimozhi said ” I would love to thank everyone who stood by me”.

Reacting to the verdict, former Finance Minister P Chidambaram, reacting to the 2G scam verdict, stated he will not comment on the actual judgement. But, “it is established that the said biggest scam that was said to be involved with the highest people in govt is not true.

Meanwhile, Senior advocate and Congress leader Kapil Sibal said there was there was no corruption, no loss. “Vinod Rai must apologise to nation”.

DMK leader Durai Murugan stated “victory begins now. With political motives this case was put in us. Conspiracies were hatched against us but all have been blown away now.

“Clearly the Court found that innocent people have been wronged. Justice has worked as it is supposed to work in our country”, said Congress leader Shashi Tharoor.

The court concluded final arguments in the case on April 26 this year.

The alleged scam on the issuance of licences and allocation of 2G spectrum by the Department of Telecom took place during the Congress-led UPA government’s first tenure in 2008 but was widely reported in 2010 following a report by the Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG).


Related Posts