18 Assam BJP leaders Join Congress in Guwahati

Over 100 BJP workers, leaders join Congress party in Assam

New Delhi: Eighteen leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Assam quit the party and joined the Congress on Sunday.

The BJP leaders were inducted into the Congress in the presence of Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) Bhupen Kumar Borah, MP Pradyut Bordoloi and Congress Legislative Party leader Debabrata Saikia at the party office in Guwahati.

“More than 100 workers & leaders from BJP joined @INCIndia today at Guwahati Rajiv Bhawan, in presence of APCC President Shri @BhupenKBorah, ACLP Leader Shri @DsaikiaOfficial, MP Shri @pradyutbordoloi and many senior leaders,” Assam Congress tweeted.

Bhupen Kumar Borah said the candidates of Congress’s student wing, National Students’ Union of India (NSUI), won maximum posts in the recent student body elections in various colleges and universities across the state.

“Apart from youths, the people of the state are now not happy with the work of the current BJP-led government. Today, 18 BJP leaders of different parts of the state have joined the Congress,” Bhupen Kumar Borah said.

Meanwhile, the APCC celebrated the 125th birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose on Sunday. The Congress leaders paid floral tributes to Netaji.

“Hon’ble APCC President [email protected], accompanied by ACLP Leader [email protected], MP [email protected] and senior leaders paid floral tribute to Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose on his birth anniversary today at Guwahati Rajiv Bhawan,” the party tweeted.

Related Posts