16th anniversary of Parliament Attack: Nation pays tribute to bravehearts

Parliament Attack

New Delhi, Dec 13: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Congress elect- President Rahul Gandhi along with other top leaders paid tribute to martyrs on 16th anniversary of the Parliament Attack. 

The Members of Parliament and lawmakers from different political parties paid homage to the bravehearts in Parliament House.

Earlier, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said in a tweet “On this day in 2001, our brave soldiers and Parliament staff repulsed the attack on our Parliament House. Respects to our martyrs. The nation shall remember with pride their sacrifice.”

“The nation salutes the exemplary valour and courage of those martyrs who sacrificed their lives protecting the Temple of India’s Democracy on December 13, 2001. Their supreme sacrifice will always be remembered by us”, Home Minister Rajnath Singh tweeted.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley in a tweet recalled the courage of Indian soldiers. “On 13/12/2001 our brave soldiers dispelled a terror attack on the Parliament house and displayed exemplary courage. We remember and salute the valour and national service of our security forces and pay respectful tribute to the martyrs,” he said.

On this day, 16 years ago five heavily-armed millitants belonging to terror outfit Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), stormed the parliament complex in New Delhi and opened fire indiscriminately, killing nine persons.


Related Posts