11 in fray for Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-election


Chandigarh, Sep 27 :A senior Punjab poll official today said that eleven candidates are in fray for the upcoming Gurdaspur Parliamentary by-election which is scheduled to be held on October 11.

On the last day of withdrawal which was today, none of the contestant withdrew their nomination papers.

The election symbols have been allotted to all candidates, said Punjab’s Additional Chief Electoral Officer Punjab Manpreet Singh

The main battle is between Congress’ Sunil Kumar Jakhar of Indian National Congress,Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Swaran Salaria and the Aam Aadmi Party’s Maj. Gen. Suresh Kumar Khajuria (retd).

Other candidates belongs to smaller state parties and independents.

The result for Gurdaspur Parliamentary by-election will be announced on October 15.

The bypoll will witness a tough fight between the BJP, which held the seat, and the state’s ruling Congress. However, the main opposition part AAP might play a spoiler for both parties.

The Lok Sabha seat fell vacant in April this year following the death of veteran actor Vinod Khanna due to cancer. Khanna held the seat from 1998 to 2004 and then from 2014 till his demise.

Wefornews Bureau 

Related Posts